600 (Q50 V21) to 720 (Q50 V38) with Law of Conservation of Energy :)

Hi All,

The GMAT success stories have always inspired me a lot. There were times when I used to get demotivated after poor performance in mock tests. But each time I used to read success stories of students scoring 700+ on Crackverbal forum and GmatClub, I used to close my eyes and dream about myself writing a similar story. So here I am after lots of ups and down in this GMAT Journey.

Moral of the story: Never Give Up.

Let me start with my brief introduction.

Like every second person in Bangalore, I am also a software engineer with around 4 years of experience in data networking industry. Hoping to enter the business field and work in US, I decided to take the GMAT.

First Attempt:- I did self-study for 2.5 months and used material such as GMAT official guide, MGMAT Quant PDFs and MGMAT Verbal PDFs. I relied on Kaplan and MGMAT mock tests for practice. My scores in these Mock Tests were never consistent and varied from 580 in MGMAT to 720 in Kaplan. I talked to few friends who had taken GMAT and discussed about my preparation. They suggested me that I should not worry about MGMAT scores because its Quant is way too tough. One of the biggest mistakes I did was I did not take the Official GMAT Practice test at the start of my preparation. So with only a week left for the exam when I scored 620 in GMATPrep, I was just hoping for some wonder to happen. However, GMAT has been designed in such a beautiful way that your practice scores from GMATPrep are direct reflections of your score in real exam. I ended up with 600 with verbal score of just 21 (27 percentile). Life seemed to be falling apart and more than sad, I was angry with myself for such a poor performance.